The Strozzi Palace in Florence, Italy, was begun by Benedetto de'Maiano, for Filippo Strozzi an unfortunate rival of Medici. It is a splendid example of civil architecture with its rusticated stone, inspired by the Medici-Riccardi Palace, but with more harmonious proportions.
The palazzo has mullioned windows and a magnificent cornice, typical of the Florentine palaces of the time, left incomplete by Cronaca, who continued the construction of the palace until 1504. Also by Cronaca is the courtyard, inspired by Michelozzo. The famous wrought-iron lanterns that decorate the corners of the palace exterior, are by the able artisan, Caparra.
Today the palace is used for international expositions like the annual Antique Show, the Italian High Fashion shows and other cultural and artistic events. Here also is the seat of the "Center of Renaissance Studies" and the noted "Gabinetta Vieusseux", with the library and reading room.